FOMO Is a Real Thing and I have it…

Fomo. Yes, Fear of Missing Out. It is a very real thing, and unfortunately I suffer from it. It is an unbearable thing and it never really goes away. It never really gets better. It just is what it is. I try every day, my absolute best to get rid of it, but once you are bitten by the travel bug, it just sort of stays with you.

It is really quite like this.

The more you travel, the more you realize how small you are and how big the world is. There is so much left unseen, so much of the world that you have yet to see. With all the places you go, you begin to itch to discover new and exciting things.

For instance, when I go to Newport, Rhode Island each year. I have gone so often that the struggle becomes real when it boils down to finding new and exciting things to do. What can I do that I have not done yet? What would be different and unique. What really stands out to me? I’ll admit that sometimes I travel to run away from things and my life. But most of the time, I travel for life not to escape me. Sometimes I travel when I’m bored and am looking for excitement or something that can remind me that I am still here and thriving and worthy and ready for adventure and the next big thing that life can throw my way.

I want to have as many adventures as I can. When I go on vacation, I always ask myself this cardinal question, “What can I do here that I cannot do somewhere else?” 

I do not want to miss out on any of my life’s pleasures. I want to go to Iceland and see the northern lights and I want to go to Australia and swim with sharks. I want to sky dive over New Zealand. I want to climb to the top of Everest. Me being me, I do not want to miss out on anything.

Here is a great article on lessons learned from traveling and why it is so important:

10 Invaluable Lessons You’ll Learn From Traveling Frequently

Leave a Reply

