Bake-Cation

So, I have decided to plan myself a little bake-cation. Right now, it is all about designing the budget to reach that goal. I mean, I’ll be honest, winter is probably my least favorite time of year. I hate WINTER! I HATE the cold. The only thing in my life, in my mind that makes winter even slightly bearable is the figure-skating and the skiing. Even though my parents were born and raised in Jamaica, I am kind of glad that I was born in New England. Had I not been born in New England, had I not experienced snow, I may have not experienced one of my favorite pass times, ice-skating. I truly love ice-skating. Especially on fresh ice. There is just something about the way the ice feels beneath my blades. One thing that I love is when there is no music playing, it is just you on the ice, as if you are one with mother nature. You can hear the clean edges scrape the ice. It is, in one word, BEAUTIFUL. There is nothing else like it.

That being said, I am in the process of planning a trip to Vermont this Winter. As you know, I recently went to Vermont to go gliding. A change of scenery that was welcome and rather nice. I could not have picked a better day to go. I glided over the Mad River Valley. I saw the ski resorts and lake champlain. As I like to tell people, it was like flying in an airplane but without an engine.

That being said, there are so many other things that I would like to experience in Vermont. For instance, I would like to go ice-climbing and snowmobiling and ride an AV and go on a Bake-cation and go dog-sledding. After all, as I have preached time and time again, life is all about the memories that you collect, not the money you make. In my opinion, life will never EVER be about playing it safe. The past few years of my life have been a rollercoaster ride to say the least.

As much as I would love to go on a Fall Foliage trip and a Winter Wonderland Escapade, I can really only afford one of those. So, naturally, I have chosen the Winter Wonderland Escapade, for obvious reasons.

So here is what I have decided to do:

  1. Take another road trip to Vermont (maybe pop a stop over in Canada-way up north, no?)
  2. Go Dog sledding with October Siberians
  3. Go ice-climbing
  4. Go bake-cationing (Okay, that last one is not a real word, but it should be. It really should be. I am a firm believer that every vacation should have a theme. And baking could be mine.) Ever since reading a Hartford Courant article about King Arthur in Norwich, Vermont, I have heard nothing but positive things about them. I tried to book a class there a while back and sure enough, as you would suspect, they were booked. But, it is still on my list of things to do.

So, you are going to have to help me plan my trip. Where should we start?

Let’s start with this. I will be on vacation from December 28-January 2. That is a solid 5 days.

289:00 AM Do The Twist: Pretzels(16)1:00 PM Quest for Cupcakes(14)1:00 PM Top That! The Art of Pizza(16) 299:00 AM Gluten-Free Yeast Breads(13)1:00 PM Magic of Wild Yeast: Sourdough(15)1:00 PM Winter Pasta(15) 309:00 AM Yeast Breads: The Basics & Beyond(16)1:00 PM Bagels & Bialys(16)1:00 PM Danish Modern(16) 319:00 AM English Muffins and More(16)9:00 AM Razzle Dazzle! New Year’s Eve Desserts(14)1:00 PM Ciabatta(15)1:00 PM New Year’s Bake & Take(16)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

The above are a list of some of the class that I have been eyeing that will take place over the course of this time. I am leaning towards the two bread baking classes that take place on the 30th and 31st of December. Yum. I love bread as much as the next person, but boy does it take time to fix and to rise. You truly need to make sure that you have time to do it. I would like to take at least 2 classes, but first on the list would be the Ciabatta class which is $100 to take.

Class: $100

Possible 2nd class: $75

Total for the baking classes I would like to spend or budget for: $175

I am also eyeing a pizza class. I love pizza! I guess you can say that that is the little bit of Italian in me.

There are dog sled tours that I am looking at for the 28, 30 and 31st, http://www.octobersiberians.com/#!dogsledcalendar/ci94 although I need to check the pricing because pricing is contingent on 2 people and this trip may very well be a me thing, in which case, I am going to need to call them.

Of course I also need to factor in food, a car rental (maybe I will look into Zipcar this time) and lodging and other things that I would like to do for fun.

I have been eyeing things like this:

http://www.voga.org/climbing.htm

https://www.adventurespiritguides.com/ice/vermont/

It will cost me $295 to go ice-climbing.

Maybe I simply take one cooking class.

$100 for cooking class

$295 for ice-climbing

That is $395 right there, but you cannot put a price on new experiences. For now, I am thinking that I start my Vermont trip up in northern Vermont in Burlington and then slowly work my way back down.

I can tell winter is going to be great already.

Then I need to look at accommodations. http://web.vermont.org/Lodging-Where-to-Stay/Bed-Breakfast. This is where math would come in handy. I hate figuring all this stuff out.

I’m thinking 2 days in Burlington and 2 days in Norwich. I’ll start at the furthest destination first and work my way back. I’ll start off exploring Burlington and northern Vermont, and then I will work my way towards Waterbury and do the dog sledding and then I will finish my trip up in Norwich at the King Arthur factory for the end of my vacation. I mean that is just experience after experience. One of my favorite things is finding new exciting and unique things that I can do in certain locations that I can’t do elsewhere. For instance, I cannot go ice-climbing or dog sledding in Connecticut.

I will keep you posted as to how exactly this trip planning goes.

Leave a Reply

