If I die young…

I don’t even know why I am writing this post. Here is what I can tell you, every time someone dies, no matter who, the media goes wild, especially when it is along something like at the hands of ISIS or a teen girl met someone online and then went totally stupid, as if the parents did not tell her not to speak to strangers or to proceed here with caution. It’s as if the media knows how these people feel, they try to get inside the minds and the heads of other people saying that “she was depressed” “he was lonely.” We hear it all the time after yet another mass shooting in the United States. Really, we are not all that united after all, not when you look at it that way.

Well, here are my thoughts…not that I want to die young, but if I did, this is what I want. I want people not to view me as a victim. I want people to remember me as someone was young and energetic and vivacious, who was not afraid to fall in love nor afraid to take risks. I want to be remembered as someone who loved her family and her friends. The truth of the matter is that no one can define me, but me. I am who I am and that is never going to change. Why should I apologize. If I were to die in some brutal way, like a terrorist attack or mass killing, I do not want the media to pounce like vultures. I want them simply to say that she was a beautiful spirit who was taken too soon before she could give everything she had to offer to the world.

If I die young, yes, I want to be buried in satin, with roses. But I do not want it to be a sad affair. Rather, I want a party, a celebration. I want people to be happy that I lived. I want my death to serve as a celebration of life, because that is what it was. I lived, I laughed, I loved, I survived. So far, I have had a great life. I have fallen in love and some people are no that lucky. I have learned to play the clarinet. I have traveled to Italy and beyond and still have much traveling to do and much to learn. I am not done yet. I want to be buried surrounded by the things I love, including food. I want to die having made a difference in this world, even if it’s only for a little bit. I want to change the world, in some capacity. I never ever want my death to be in vein.

 

Always,

-C

Leave a Reply

