Hold on to 16!

sixteen

Does anybody remember that Glee episode, “Hold on to sixteen?”

Well, I don’t know why, but I have been thinking about that episode a lot lately. Just the title of the episode alone resonates with me in a way that I can barely put in to words. When we are young, we always rush to grow up. I mean, when we are six, or seven, or even eight, that is when they start asking what we want to be when we grow up? Well, how the hell are we supposed to know? We’re barely old enough to see over the counter tops. When I was that age, I must have gone through a million phases. At first, I wanted to be a teacher. Then it was Britney Spears. At one point, I wanted to be a professional figure-skater, like my idol, Tara Lipinski, and I even went through a back-up dancer phase.

Time never slows, never stops and never ever rewinds. At age sixteen, it is supposed to be this big birthday. This huge affair, if you will. But really, what has changed, other than the fact that you are another year older, and will now drive yourself insane preparing for the SAT’s.

A few years ago, I read a quote that really has stuck with me ever since. “Today is the oldest you have ever been and the youngest you will ever be again.” Well, wouldn’t you agree. Do as they say in Dead Poets Society, Carpe Diem! Cease the day! Dream as if you’ll live forever and live as if you’ll die today. Do not be one of those people who doesn’t live, but just exists. Explore, learn, laugh, love, and do something that you have never ever DONE! Why? Because tomorrow is promised to no one!

So, hold on as long as you can. Whatever age you are. Hold on to twenty one, hold one to eighteen, hold on to sixteen as long as you can. Hold on to sixteen!

Leave a Reply

