I Hate Flying….

I absolutely hate flying. I officially have two days until I fly back to the states, and I am not looking forward to it. Flying gives me horrible anxiety. And sometimes, when I have to get on a plane, I have very bad panic attacks. That is not good. But you know, the funny thing is, I never used to harbor that fear. In fact, at one point I used to love flying. Okay, not the actual going through security part, or the baby crying on board part, but the actual physical act of sitting in the airplane, getting a birds eye view, seeing the scenic landscape was we take off and as we come in for landing.

However, slowly, over the years, I developed the fear of flying. It might have to do with crazies being every where these days. I mean, first their are the Muslims and the terrorists. They actually believe that they are fighting for something, but there is no religion that preaches violence. It pains me that people have such little regard for human life. Life is so fragile. We only get one. I mean, there are a lot of people I don’t like. A lot. I could draft a list for you; still, that is no reason to take somebody’s life. It pains me to see the world that we have become.

Anyways, my point is, I refuse to die at the hands of somebody else. I will die, when I choose to die and in my own way; preferably, in my sleep and pain free from natural causes and old age. I am not okay with half of the stuff I hear about that goes wrong in flight. I guess I probably should not read the news, or watch things like the special on Why Planes Crash. It certainly does not ease my anxiety. If anything, it heightens it, and adds to an already stressful travel routine.

Perhaps the only way to ease my anxiety is to go skydiving out of a plane or learn to fly a plane myself. After all, someone great once said, “the only thing we have to fear, is fear itself.” Maybe, the only way to conquer this fear, is to face this fear, by doing it over and over and over again. Statistically speaking, I am more likely to get struck by lightning than to die in a plane crash. People only hear of the bad things to the hundreds of people that happen to die in a crash. They fail to take into account the fact that six thousand flights took off that day.

Leave a Reply

