There’s nothing wrong with being naive and ignorant

ignorance-is-blissDefinition of naïve: having or showing lack of experience, information, or judgment

Definition of ignorant: Lacking in knowledge or training; unaware, uninformed

To many, my life probably looks disorganized, a mess of sorts. It may seem like I am wandering aimlessly, with no goal, no plan and no motivation in life. I could see how it might seem that way to unlookers, people that either simply just don’t understand, or are blinded, or that have never had the opportunities that I have had.

Let’s agree to disagree here. I want the same thing that everyone wants out of life, to be happy. The only difference, between me and them, is that I am not going to sit back and hope that my circumstances change, I am going to go out there and change my circumstances myself.

I have always been a firm believer that if you do not like something, change it. Hate your job? Quite. And don’t you dare tell me it’s not that easy. It’s about as easy as it gets.  Stop living your life for other people. You came into this world alone, and you are going to leave alone. That’s just the way it is. No ifs, ands or butts about it.

Maybe it’s a good thing that I am naïve and ignorant. If I had more sense than I do, maybe I would not have come here to Italy.  The fact that I came here, with a half baked plan, not only proves that I have guts, but that I am going to make life happen, not just watch life happen around me. I am willing to do what others can’t or won’t. I am willing to step out of my comfort zone to explore another culture.  If I was not already me, I would want to be me. I think I’m pretty awesome. It took me a while to get to that point in my life where I am truly okay, but I think I have arrived. I am okay. And I will continue to be okay. My foolishness got me here, and even that is okay.

And lastly, to any of my former colleagues that may be reading this, you think I was ignorant? Well, there is a reason people say that “ignorance is bliss” geniuses.

ignorance

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathleen says:

    Everyone is ignorant about something, so you can’t worry about what you don’t know. You’re finding out what you need to know; it’s those who refuse to learn who have a problem.

    The opposite of naiveté is cynicism. What’s so great about that? You are on the right track for you, and that’s what counts.

    1. Trying telling that one to my former colleagues

Leave a Reply

