On the Students Level

Okay, so this post probably should have been written last week, but I was tired and exhausted and downright lazy, yeah, that pretty much seems it up.

Anyways, I did manage to have a half way decent class last week. It was just one class, and as the students were getting to know me, we discovered that we both liked a lot of the same television shows: Pretty Little Liars, The Vampire Diaries and Eye Candy.

One of the students in my class it turns out, is a fan of Divergent and has been reading the books. Of course, I love Veronica Roth and I love the Divergent trilogy, so we ended up having a lovely discussion on that. And I did let them know, while I did not plan on giving spoilers, I did not like how the story line ended.

Of course, the students were relentless, and wanted to know what happened. So, I told everyone that if they did not want to hear how the story ended, to cover their ears. And I told them major spoiler alert, “TRIS DIES.” They were shocked. But, as long as it was not Four, of course not, because Four is gorgeous. Part of me wishes that I could get the Divergent tattoos, but I do not like needles, or pain, and am not particularly in favor of marking up my body with permanent ink.  But I’ll be honest with you, like Four says in the movie, “I don’t want to be just one thing. I can’t be.  I want to be brave and I want to be selfless, intelligent, honest and kind…well, I’m still working on kind.”

However, Four fears, really?  And constantly putting yourself in your own fear landscape? That has got to be torture. Some of my fears are pretty bad. It would be like being on fear factor. I’m afraid of heights and spiders and snakes. Oh, just talking about it makes me shiver; like in the lion king when the hyenas kept saying, “mooofassa….” And then they would shudder, oh no.

Anyways, it does go to show that even though we are all from different cultures and backgrounds, we have things in common, we have shared interests.

Similarly, a few days ago, I found a common interest between myself and one of the students. We both liked Lady Gaga music, and she proceeded to show me her playlist. And I promptly showed her pictures from the concert. divergent_wallpaper

Leave a Reply

