Ieri

So, yesterday was my second day of classes. I wish I could say that it was better than the first. In actuality, it was about the same. The teacher warned me in advance, saying “this is the worst class.”

I am telling you, I was a better listener at that age than these kids. What does that tell you?

How does anything get taught at this school? Someone will be trying to ask me a question, and everyone in the class is speaking simultaneously that I can’t even hear what the first person said. How is that in the least bit respectful? Too bad these kids don’t have “off” switches or “mute” buttons. And I’m supposed to just sit back and accept that that is the way Italian children are. HA!! Over my dead body. I may only be here for two months, but on my watch, no one speaks without first raising their hand. If they find it necessary to be disruptive, they can go sit in a corner or in the hall or something.

And I still have not managed to find asprin. Not in a single pharmacy. I’m sure it’s there, but they are not selling Advil or Ibuprofen. Asprin is what is going to get me through this. These kids are so loud. Loro sono rumoroso.

And then there was this one kid that kept poking me every time he had a question. Like seriously. STOP!! I HATE BEING TOUCHED! AND I ESPECIALLY HATE BEING POKED AND PRODDED AT. And also, have these Italians ever heard of personal space? Please do not invade mine.

I guess I can understand now, why, when I was a child, my mom would get so annoyed when I would keep poking her every time I had a question.

Someone has got to tame these kids and teach them what discipline is.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathleen says:

    You should be able to get aspirin (aspirina) or ibuprofen (ibuprofene) in any pharmacy by asking the pharmacist. It’s not like in the US where drugs are displayed on a shelf for anyone to pick up.

    1. Yep. Bought my asprin today. I wonder why they have it like that. It’s so much easier in the US to go thru all the drugs and pick which one works best 4 us.

Leave a Reply

