Yes Elizabeth Gilbert, I know what you mean….

eat_pray_love_xlg

“Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.”
Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love    

“You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control.”
Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love    

Check out my picture below with Liz Gilbert, the author:

eat pray love

You know, it is in large part because of reading both this book, and Wild, by Cheyl Strayed that I decided to do such a daring and risk taking journey. I live life by one motto and one motto only, “life is too short to be anything but happy.” I will risk everything I have for the three things in life that are of the most importance to me. Those three things are 1) love 2) happiness 3) family. I did not like my job, for reasons that have since become irrelevant. I was suffering, dying, draining and becoming unhappy because I was working with horrible people in a toxic environment. There is a quote that says, “giving up does not always mean you are weak, sometimes it means you are strong enough to let go.” That quote applies to more than just toxic relationships. The way that I see the world, is since we spend half of our life working, why should we be unhappy doing it. There is another quote, I believe I can attribute to either some famous book, or movie, perhaps the Dead Poets Society, that says, “If you are doing what you love, you’ll never have to work a day in your life.” There is also another quote that says, “You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

I’m glad that I was strong enough to walk away from an environment that I deemed unhealthy for my mental, physical and emotional health. I choose myself and happiness. And mark my words, I will choose happiness every single time.

I’m still not entirely sure what I want out of life. But I am having a great time looking in Italy. Eating, laughing, loving and enjoying the simplicities. I’m not sure what my path is in life or what road lies ahead, or even about finding a job upon my return. It could be very easy or very difficult. But for now, I am taking each day, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

