Italian Eavesdropping

Ciao! Ciao. I am officially on day 2 of my stay in Italy. You know, my second full day that does not involve traveling. I’m still trying to get used to things around here. But, more than anything, I want to finish getting settled at let the customs and this new world and life grown on me. I swear, I feel as if I am becoming more and more Italian every day.

Anyways, sometimes it is just generally hard for me to understand what people are saying. But sometimes, actually, most times, that is what I like. I sit in the staff room or at a café or bar and just listen to other people’s conversations, the conversations going on around me. I’ll be honest, I can’t understand most of what they say, it all just goes over my head, like they are speaking too quickly or something, and my brain has to work extra hard to keep up. If the brain had muscles, I’d be using muscles I did not even know I had. What is this mess? Well, it’s still all about the experience, if you will. Like I said, I’m planning to stay in Macerata through the weekend and then figure out this whole travel things throughout Italy and find out where the best hostels are and how to get to them. Maybe I’ll ebven make a few friends along the way. I’m slightly lonely right now, but maybe once I start venturing out and meeting more people and immersing myself into the Italian way of life, things will change. Learning to speak the language is half the battle, it is understanding what is said back to you that is the challenge. Maybe I need some more tutoring.

macerata city

Leave a Reply

