The Trip That Changed My Life

picIt didn’t take much. It all began in the Fall of 2014. I have always had a list of countries in Europe that were at the top of my list of places to see before I died. Those countries were France, England, Italy and Spain. Well, in September of 2014, I finally went to the last country on that list, Italy. It was love at first sight. Now, I have been in love before, with guys of course. But, all it took was one trip to Italy to change my life and my entire outlook on life.

I fell in love with the culture, the people, the food and the language, La Lingua Bella. Come bellisimo!! Of course, I saw some of the biggest tourist attractions in Venice, Rome and Florence. I was even lucky enough to toss a coin into the Trevi Fountain ensuring my trip back to Rome. So, you see, if I did not return to Italy, then I would simply be going against fate. We can’t have that now, can we?

That being said, while in Italy, I realized there are a few things that I will never look at the same way again. Those things are:

1) Olive Oil

2) Pasta

3) Pizza

4) Wine

I mean, in the two weeks I spent there, I became utterly shocked that I did not gain that much weight. I gained more weight in college as a result of the freshman 15. Lovely. Their pizza was to die for, their pasta was made from scratch, I learned about the way olive oil was made and the difference between cold pressed and hot pressed. Italy opened up a whole new world for me. It gave me meaning in life again.

I vowed that I would one day return. Recently, since I have been feeling drained, unmotivated and unhappy in my working life, I thought what better way to start over than to leave my job and head back to Italy. The way I see it, you only live once, and life is too short to be anything but happy. I want to find my passion. Whatever I do in life, I want it to ignite me and set my soul on fire. I want to wake up every day feeling thrilled and energetic and happy to be alive. do not want to wake up feeling dead inside.

So, I planned a trip. I applied to teach English at a school in Italy. I get free room and board, and free meals, three times a day. Sounds like a good trade off for me, yeah? I can learn more about the language, the culture, and really live like a local. I’ll be staying in the small town of Macerata. I plan to be their for two months. And I’m flying Aer Lingus, an airliner that I have never flown with before. I figured, that if I’m going to do something like this, now is the time, when I am in my twenties, still young and do not have many official engagements, and have yet to settle down.

So, this blog will cover:

1) Why I started it

2) A countdown to my departure

3) Things that I need to bring

4) My process of learning Italian

5) My time IN Italy

6) The Journey Back to myself

7) Falling in love & life abroad

Parliamo a dopo!!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rapha says:

    Love this. In my opinion it is the right decision 🙂 Excited about your following posts. Greets from Germany.

    1. catherinerose34 says:

      Thanks. I have a friend that’s stationed over in Germany right now.

Leave a Reply

