Where Jazz was Born

Hey guys! I know it’s been a while; and I promise, I will explain my long absence. But first, I came across this post, and I thought it was absolutely brilliant and was itching to share: http://wanderonwards.com/2013/12/30/23-things-to-do-instead-of-getting-engaged-before-youre-23/.

That’s right, the post discusses people that have gotten engaged before the ripe old age of 23. I’m now 24 years old, and of course, I’m still single. I have only had two serious boyfriends in my life: Joel and Jordan. Of course neither of those relationships worked out. However, the latter, I had considered him to be my soul mate and was devastated when we parted ways. I even just finished reading an inspiring memoir titled Never Have I ever: My life so far without a date, by Katie Heaney. And reading that book, it was like she was talking right to me.

I thought Jordan and I would get married; of course, maybe I was just settling. I would rather settle and be married since that was my life’s goal, than keep searching, and Jordan was a safe bet.

I look on facebook and so many of my peers are engaged and married. I keep comparing myself to other people and not focusing on myself. I know I am very smart and very talented. In fact, here is a list of everything that I am able to do:

1) Ballet

2) Jazz

3) Character

4) Pointe

5) Hip-Hop

6) Contemporary

7) I was on my high school jazz dance team for three years

8) I graduated from my top choice college, Emerson

9) I can read music

10) I can play the clarinet (although it’s been years since I last practiced, so I’m not sure how good I still am)

11) I can figure-skate

12) I can write

13) I can cook

14) I am quite skilled in photography

15) I reached the point in my life where I genuinely don’t care what other people think about me. People are going to talk no matter what, and guess what, that says more about them than it does about you

16) I have learned that not everybody is going to like you; this is with or without reason. And what other people think, it really doesn’t matter. All that should matter is what GOD and you think of yourself.

So you see, I am multi-talented, I am even working on learning a foreign language.

The only thing here, is that from the time we are young, society puts this image of who we are and how we should live our lives into our heads, and that is simply not true. I’m 24 and single. I haven’t dated in a while or had a serious boyfriend in quite some time (you can blame Jordan for that one). But that is completely fine. Maybe getting married isn’t what I really want, rather, it is what I felt like I had to do.

I don’t want to stay in Connecticut, but I feel stuck. I need that one thing, that one route out that can take me anywhere I want to go in the world, whether it be Washington, DC, New York City or Beijing. One of these days I will get to live my dreams, I can just pack my bags and go.

I think that is the best part of being single and traveling alone, is that you get the type of experiences that you would never get were you accompanied by someone. Just recently actually, I took a 5 day trip to New Orleans. Okay, it was a little more expensive than I had hoped, but it was totally worth it. I think I proved to myself and my parents and everyone that I actually can travel alone. The best part was, I could go at my own pace and do what I wanted to do. I did not have to consult with anybody. I went for Mardi Gras, and had the time of my life. I had more food than I could have imagined. I tried everything that was authentic to New Orleans. I tried Red Beans and rice, Jambalaya, Crawfish Etoufee, Pralines, King Cake–you name it, it’s probably in my stomach by now. That is, except for alligator and turtle soup. I can’t believe people actually eat alligator and turtle.

Of course, I have absolutely fallen in love with New Orleans, the birth place of Jazz. I spent a great deal of time in the French Quarter and on the Mississippi River. I took a tour of the plantation, the Laura Plantation. There is so much history and culture in New Orleans, that if I could have spent more time there, I would have. I had the time of my life. In fact, if life had a repeat button, I would be on it right now. I highly recommend New Orleans to anyone who has an interest in food, culture, history, drinking, or art.

Below are some of the pictures I took from my wonderful adventure:

015

My first day in New Orleans, I ate at Mulates. It was probably the best food that I ate while down South. Of course, I was really hungry after the long flight. These oysters were muy deliciosa.

020

You can’t go wrong with seafood gumbo (pictured above).

022

The best part of New Orleans bread pudding is the fact that they put heavy, heavy whiskey in it (OHHH YEAHH)

048

Cathedral!!!!

069

Cafe du Monde. Yes, that’s right!! The legendary, Cafe du Monde.

100

Laura Plantation….

163

 

An epic float….

Leave a Reply

