Writing my way through the World

Hi.

Welcome to my new blog: Small Girl, Big World. I know, I know, not the most clever or creative title around, but it was all I could think of at the time. I literally spent almost an hour trying to rack my brain for a title that I thought I could use for my new blog. I wanted something that I really thought would capture me and who I am as a person, and kept turning up with nothing. I wanted a catchy title, something like Frugal Frolicker, even though that title is already taken. Ultimately, I ended up settling on Small Girl, Big World. It’s simple enough. I am a very small package of a girl, but the world? The world itself is so huge, there is so much to see, and I want to see it all before it’s my time to go. So, naturally, I thought the title was fitting.

I decided to start this blog as another medium for me to display pictures from all of my adventures overtime, as well as write about my travels and the different adventures that I have had.

I also started this blog as a way to document me saving up money to go on, yes, you guessed it, a cross country road trip. I don’t even have a clue how I plan to pull that off; especially when I keep spending money on drinks or food or whatever else it might be. I do live in the United States after all, I might as well see most of it.

I have always done the norm, done what is expected of me, not what I want to do. I have never done what I really wanted to do, so I am stuck at a job that I don’t really want, sinking deeper and deeper into depression.

I know, who am I to complain? At least I have a job, right? it took me two and a half years, but at least I have a job? I am one of the few recent college graduates to have landed a job. No longer do I have to be working a crap minimum wage job at the CT Science Center. If only it were that easy. Nobody understands it, and nobody gets it.

The job that I have now, for one thing, they don’t value their employees. It is so hard to work for a company where they only view their employees as worker ants, as numbers. They create unrealistic goals that most people can’t possibly reach and then shun you when you don’t make those goals. They pressure you and push you to get stuff in. It does not matter how hard you try, that you are working your ass off. All they care about are numbers. It is one of those jobs where people are either fired or quit. I might as well quit before I get fired. My time their is limited, at least that part is clear. People gossip there and nobody that I know of their actually likes their job. It is so hard to work for a place, for a company when you don’t even know if you will still be there next week. Working for this place, to me, is like dying of a terminal illness–you don’t know if tomorrow will be your last day.

So, in the meantime, I have decided that I am going to continue to write, on my free time at least. I do have a couple of vacations planned over the next year; and that is excluding two that will be attributed to being at conferences.

I also want to use this blog as a way to track my road trip. I haven’t even picked a time of year that I would like to go yet. I can tell you what I would not like to do or so though. I do not plan on going to places, to states that I have already been. I do not plan on going to New Hampshire, or Phili, or Maryland.

Anyways, I do hope that you enjoy this blog. Like I said, it is away for me to merge two of my biggest passions (writing & photography) together.

new mexico pic

Leave a Reply

