Coming in for Landing

airplane1 I wish I could explain that coming in for landing feeling. I love flying, most of the time. Actually, to be more exact, I like the take off and the landing. More specifically than that, I enjoy flying at night and in the early morning; at least that way I can sleep.

My favorite part of landing is guessing how long it will take for the planes wheels to hit the ground, and whether or not the landing will be smooth or bumpy.

And, like the weirdo that I am, I love airplane food and the peanuts that they give us on airplanes. I told my mother that once, and her response was, “well you’re the only one.”

These pictures inserted come to you as I’m coming in for landing in New Mexico.
I went to New Mexico a few years back with my mother. New Mexico was a trip to remember. I mostly remember how adamant I was to try everything New Mexican. That included tasting frito pie, fry bread, and green chile stew. I will never try green chile stew again. Even though my mother tried to get me to stop, I was adamant about trying this New Mexican dish that I had never heard of before. That was the worst thing I could have ever done. I had a stomach ache for the rest of the day. I guess you could say that for all intensive purposes, I learned my lesson the hard way.

airplane2

 

house1

You can say hello to the girl. The girl meets world. New Mexico is the furthest west that I have ever gone in the United States, beating out Colorado. It was a unique experience that day, it was.

sombrero

 

Sometimes I go on vacation, or travel, and I swear I never want to come back. Like the unsatisfying job that I have right now, I want to just leave and travel the world or take a road trip. It’s not that I don’t want to do these things, but these things cost money, and believe it or not, money does not grow on trees.

Some people think that I am  crazy, for wanting all of the things I want. And I might be; but I will expand my mind, and one day, I will see the world, before I get married, before I have kids. I’m only young once, I need to cherish that while I can. Like it is said, “of all the words of mice and men, the saddest are ‘it might have been.’ I don’t want to find myself on my deathbed one day, and look back wishing I had done all of the things I wanted to do. I want to live a happy, healthy, fulfilled, satisfied and comfortable life. I am caught between what I want to do and what I should do.  Yes, I want to live a comfortable life, but I also want to ignite my passion.

I once heard someone say that at 79, he regrets far more the things he didn’t do than the things he did. Life is short, we should be living it now; don’t waste it on the dead.

 

 

Leave a Reply

